A Bright Idea

Philips lighting + Inhabitat weblog are hosting the Bright Ideas Lighting Design Competition. Entries will be judged based on aesthetics, creativity, sustainability, practicality, and commercial viability. Its been a while since I’ve designed any furniture or lighting and I thought this would be a fun and different project to get the wheels spinning.

I created a solution I call Stala Series.  I envision multiple variations on this design, all inspired by cave formations. The name is a play on the actual cave formations, Stalactites & Stalagmites. I chose this form because it is delicate but sturdy, organic yet mathematical and whimsical. One of main design features of this light is that it uses the new Philips LED bulb. LED technology creates a bulb that lasts much longer than traditional incandescent bulbs and because LEDs burn cool, it allows for more flexibility in shade material options. I chose a recycled paper shade that collapses down to flat pack. Think origami. I designed the packaging and light itself to be created from recycled materials and be fully recyclable and to be shipped flat with minimal packaging and no tools required for assembly. Read on for more details.

Finalists will be announced May 30th. Keep your fingers crossed and thanks for reading!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

