Hangin’ Around

I would be lying if I said that I’ve never been called a scavenger. In my defense, I see things a little bit differently than most people. When I spotted these palm fronds hangin’ around on the sidewalk I first thought they might make a good hanging planter.

Well, it turned out I also needed a clever lighting solution for my kitchen and when I realized I had an old light socket cord kit I knew where this was going.

I cut a small disk of plastic and hot glued it to the back of the frond to attach it to the cord. The beauty of this corner application is that it really doesn’t matter how you hang it since no one will see the back. This solution was quick, free and super simple. My kind of fix. As a final touch I finished it off with a spray clear coat to bring out the natural color of the frond. Since the back of the frond is open it casts a really nice, diffuse glow all over this corner of the kitchen.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

2 responses to “Hangin’ Around”

  1. reubix1 says :

    Hi, there … I love your idea using these palm bits as a lamp, literally brilliant! Here’s a project from my blog, Rancho Reubidoux, using the same material for a wall-mounted succulent planter:
    http://ranchoreubidoux.com/2012/01/09/how-to-windy-day-hang-up/

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Realizer « Rancho Reubidoux - May 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

