FREEcycled Outdoor Wall Art

Its true what they say. Sometimes, the best things in life ARE free. When I’m doing projects the only thing better than free, is free + recycled = FREEcycled. It feels good to take something that was about to be thrown away and turn it into something fit to gawk at. For this idea I started with a stack of FREE packing materials that I scavanged salvaged from the garbage. I used about $2 worth of purchased materials to get the final product. There’s a pretty good chance I could have done this completely free but I was pretty set on a particular final look. Use your imagination! Like I’ve mentioned before. You don’t have to spend much to create something that looks really fantastic.

Packing Materials

If you look at the top part of each tray it has “feet” which help it to hold the product upright in the box. Those were not part of this project. So, I cut them off using a straight edge and knife. I want to note that I did not throw them away. I will most likely use them in a future application.

Packing Materials Edit

After I had all the “feet” trimmed off of the trays I layed them out to get an idea of the pattern I ultimately wanted. The cool thing about this material is you can rotate it any which way and it will give you a different pattern.

Once I had my pattern finalized I used hot glue to mount them to a piece of 24″ X 48″ melamine. The melamine costs under $2 and is very light weight. The perfect material for wall art. Its good to do a dry fit, to make sure the material fits on your board the way you want it. In my case it wasn’t exactly the same size so I ended up just letting the material hang over the edge a bit at the top and bottom. Because the melamine is so thin (about 1/8″) it won’t impact the final look.

We’re almost there. All the pieces have been attached to the board just using tiny dobs of hot glue. The final step is to finish it in any color you like. I chose a metallic silver for this since it will be hanging outside and I wanted to give it the illusion of tin. I thought the sun hitting it might have a nice effect.

Recyled Packing Material Wall Art

Here’s a close up of the final product. This is actually a different version than the one shown in the set up but you get the idea. I rotated each tray so that different sections catch the light and reflect it in a different way.

Recycled Packing Material Wall Art

I ended up hanging the piece outside in the garden. I like using unexpected elements outside to help the indoors flow out. I love the way  this super modern looking material looks with the more rustic siding and vegetation. I wrapped it all up with a vintage side chair that I painted neon yellow to help give it a fresh look. I’ll show you how I did that in a future post.

As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice creating your own, just ask!

Tags: , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

14 responses to “FREEcycled Outdoor Wall Art”

  1. sonnieharris says :

    That’s wicked!

  2. Jenny says :

    Wow. Unexpected elements outside: a favorite of mine, as well. And I adore that little chair!

  3. Bob Herndon says :

    The reflections are definitely happenin’

    If the outdoors fades your plastic, you can step it up with some Krylon chrome paint!

  4. Bob Herndon says :

    PS … The berry trays… they make nice paint trays for acrylic, or gouache, or water color pigments. Just cover with Saran wrap in between painting sessions.

    Oh yeah, one more item… You rock it Mr. Rob Botto!

  5. Steve says :

    I know I may not have read your article completely but where did you get the materials? I would like to create something similar. BTW very nice!

Leave a Reply

