Jenny Pop(s) Art

The houndstooth is back! Yes.  I do seem to have an affinity for this pattern. I haven’t shared any paintings yet so here goes. My favorite medium to work on is melamine, because it’s so cheap (Under $2 for an 1/8″ thick sheet that measures 24″ X 48″). Lately I’ve been into spray paint and stencils. I started with a photo of my magical and beautiful friend and creative protegé, Jenny Johnston (aka Jenny Pops). Her blog is here and is most definitely worth checking out. She is always a source of inspiration for me. I worked with her photo using photoshop and illustrator until I got it down to one color and then combined it with the houndstooth. From there I printed it and cut it out. I prefer using paper over plastic since its easier to work with. After a few coats of spray paint it’s just the same as plastic. Here’s the stencil.

To prepare the melamine canvas I use a coat of spray primer.

From there I layered a few different colors of paint for depth and then layed down the Houndstooth. Here’s a close up of the stenciled portion.

And here is the final product.

As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice making your own, just holler!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

2 responses to “Jenny Pop(s) Art”

  1. Jenny says :

    Magical and beautiful. Rob! I love this process and the final wonderful product. I still have no idea what photograph you used of me, but it doesn’t matter because this is the bees’ knees! I love you.

    • Ideas Realized says :

      Well, its true! I can’t figure out which picture it was either! I was trying to track it down too so I could include in the blog as the original photo. Oh well! I think it turned out good and totally looks like you. Captures your essence at least.

Leave a Reply

