It’s my table and I’ll Krylon if I want to

I inherited this table when I moved into my apartment. It was old and oxidized and badly in need of some TLC. The overall structure of the table was pretty solid. There was a small crack in the back of one of the chairs but nothing a little gorilla glue couldn’t fix. I threw around some ideas and settled on a few coats of spray paint and a stenciled pattern on the top. Easy and cheap and I knew it would make a big difference. Here we go.

I started by cleaning up the table, washing all the dirt away and then got the stencil ready.

I had actually found this pattern on the back of a catalog. I scanned it in and then replicated it in illustrator. I mentioned in a previous post that I prefer to use paper for stencils since they’re easier to cut. This was the same deal. With the stencil all cut out and the table cleaned up, I took it into the studio for painting. This time I did apply a coat of primer prior to painting. The final touch was a small 5′ umbrealla that I got from World Market. Here’s the final product. I settled on my favorite color of blue and went with white for the stenciled area. I chose white because I wanted to add depth and texture to the table top but didn’t necessarily want high contrast.

As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice on making your own, just holler! Thanks for reading and remember, today’s dreams become tomorrow realities.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

2 responses to “It’s my table and I’ll Krylon if I want to”

  1. Shadrach says :

    Nice job. Love that color. My question is that I notice the table top is grooved, did you have any trouble getting the stencil to accommodate the varied table height? How did you keep the lines straight? Thanks!

    • Ideas Realized says :

      Well, since the stencil areas overlap its actually really easy to line up. Its kind of like laying tile… if you ensure the first section is straight the rest should line up. The lines are not actually as deep as they might appear in the photo. Perhaps 1/32 of an inch. They actually aided in lining the stencils up.

Leave a Reply

