Stairway to Succulent Heaven

outdoor furniture used as garden storage and plant stand

This quarky little piece has been doubling as gardening supply storage and plant stand since before I moved into this apartment. My friend who lived here before me decided to repurpose it as outdoor furniture. Since its small in scale its the perfect size for the front porch and its unique shape makes it great for showing off favorite plants. The only downside is the elements have definitely taken their toll on this little gem. Spray paint to the rescue…again.

I started by removing all the drawers and hardware and giving it a thorough dusting.

It was about this time that I realized the veneer all along the top had become brittle and was peeling off. I took a putty knife to it and scraped and peeled away any areas that were loose to get the piece prepped for painting.

I chose a dark brown for the wood and a gloss black for the hardware. Here is the final product.

As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice on making your own, just holler! Thanks for reading and remember, today’s dreams become tomorrow realities.

Tags: , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

2 responses to “Stairway to Succulent Heaven”

  1. Jenny Johnston says :

    What a great garden piece. I love that!

Leave a Reply

