This Little Light of Mine

I happened upon a set of three palettes that I thought had really cool feet. Each palette had 9 injection molded plastic donut shaped feet that screwed into the bottom of the palette with a threaded bolt. I tossed around a few ideas and settled on making them into a light that I could either set on a table or mount to the wall. This project used all recycled materials that I had lying around.

Once I had all the feet removed I took out the thread hardware and gave them a coat of flat black paint.

Concerned that they were starting to look too much like mini tires and that the black paint would absorb all the light from the light source I decided to spray the inside of each “donut” with gold paint. I thought it would pop it up a notch and help reflect some light.

To get the gold on just the inside of each donut I drilled a large hole in the bottom of a solo cup and used that to direct the gold paint into the center.

Turns out spray paint melts solo cups. I wonder what it does when you breath it? Another reason to wear a respirator.

With all the donuts painted I got started on the board I would mount them to. I started by mapping out the locations where I would push the lights through into the center of each donut and drilled holes.

With all the holes drilled I gave it a few coats of high gloss black paint for contrast with the flat black and applied a sheet of the same contact paper I used on the houndstooth wall.

I finished the whole thing up by pushing white christmas lights through each hole and stapling them to the back. This worked out well because it helps to give the whole fixture a halo or glow from the back. Here’s the finished piece in the daylight.

And here’s what it looks like all lit up.

I like it a lot sitting flat on a table because it looks like a long arrangement of candles. The fixture is 24″ X 60″ so I just need to get a giant dining room table… and a new apartment to hold it!

As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice on making your own, just holler! Thanks for reading and remember, today’s ideas become tomorrow realities.

Tags: , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

3 responses to “This Little Light of Mine”

  1. ed says :

    you’re like an interior design macgyver. i like how you found a new use out of those red beer cups. not just for kegs.

  2. Jenny says :

    I like what Ed said. Right Said Ed. Such a grand idea. Again.

Leave a Reply

