Branching Out

I know, I know… I should have put a bird on it. After all, what goes better with branches and nests? The final result of this project was definitely not what I set out to create but it definitely is weird unique. I bought the lamp for $3 at the swap meet and pulled the manzanita branches out of the garbage at work. The lamp looked to be oxidized brass and the branches were unfinished/natural.

I wired the branches to the harp with some thin gauge wire. The harp is the piece of the lamp that goes up and around the bulb to hold the shade. I gave the lamp and branches a coat of bright green glossy paint, taking care to fill up the light bulb socket with paper to make sure the paint didn’t get in there. I didn’t have a suitable shade so I created a web of paper strips and glued them together to create a shade. The shade was inspired by a bird nest. It seemed appropriate given the context. Here’s how it turned out.

And here’s a close up of the shade.

If I were to do this again I would finesse the shade some to make it a little more like a nest. I still might do that, but for now I’m happy with the final product.

As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice on making your own, just holler! Thanks for reading and remember, today’s ideas become tomorrow realities.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

One response to “Branching Out”

  1. Jenny says :

    I love the Portlandia reference, and I want this lamp. The green paint was a fantastic addition. Love you!

Leave a Reply

