Junk In The Trunk

Who couldn’t use more storage? I know I could. Here’s one more way to hide your junk so no one can judge just how much unnecessary shit you have. This is my favorite kind of project… free and functional. I found this old steamer trunk in the alley. Its pretty beat up but I like that it has so much character. It’s  a little rusty…real worn.

It looks like it’s been around the world and quite literally, I think it has. On the inside of the trunk an envelope is taped to the lid. It says the trunk was sent from Saudi Arabia to Lexington Kentucky. No, the phone number doesn’t work. I tried.

There is also a fascinating little label on the outside of the trunk. “Life and Death. Questions for us all.” I can only imagine what kind of things this trunk used to contain.

To hang the trunk on the wall I used a support to position it where I wanted before attaching it to the wall. I think it was a shoe box or something. Anyway, anything will work to hold it up while you fasten it to the wall. I just used drywall screws. Depending on how heavy your trunk is and what you plan to stuff inside you might want to use anchors. That’s probably a good idea actually. Although, I like breaking the rules…which I will probably pay for when it comes crashing down in the middle of the night and I think a robber is trying to break in. Anyway, here is the final product.

Hope you enjoyed. As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice on making your own, just holler! Thanks for reading and remember, today’s ideas become tomorrow realities.

Tags: , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

