Plant Your Seat!

Remember as a kid when your parents or teachers used to tell you to, “Plant your seat!” when they wanted you to sit? This project gives a whole new meaning to the phrase. This chair is now on its third incarnation. You might remember from an earlier post that this chair has already been broken to bits and put back together once. Since the back on it was kind of weak anyway, this seemed like the perfect final project for this old gal.

To begin the conversion from chair to planter I drilled holes in the seat for drainage. I cut and attached 3/4″ X  1 1/2″ scraps from some frames I had made to create a box to hold the soil on top of the seat. After I painted those out to match the rest of the chair it was as easy as filling it with soil and planting with succulent cuttings. Here is the final product.

Hope you enjoyed. As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice on making your own, just holler! Thanks for reading and remember, today’s ideas become tomorrow realities.

Tags: , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

4 responses to “Plant Your Seat!”

  1. Jenny says :

    Beautiful, Roberto. ❤

  2. Tracy says :

    Wow. I LOVE this. So incredibly beautiful. You are so talented!

Leave a Reply

