Vertical Zen Garden Box

I love displaying plants in unusual ways. As I  mentioned in a previous post I don’t have a lot of surface space for containers so I’ve been trying to think of clever ways to go vertical with my indoor gardening. As with most of my projects, this is simple but packs a punch. I started with 3/4″ X 1 1/2″ lumber and a piece of 1/4″ melamine and created a box. After painting it I lined with an old shower curtain cut to size. After stapling the plastic in place I used grower pots cut in half and hot glued those to the back. Then I covered the whole thing in sheet moss which I hot glued in place and then filled the pots with soil and plants. Voila! I have it standing on top of a book case with Buddha and lit with some LEDs but you could also hang it directly on the wall. For maintenance I put the whole box in the shower once a week and mist in between.

boxes_all

box_finished_light box_finished_dark

As always, if you have any questions on how I did this or need advice on making your own, just holler! Thanks for reading and remember, today’s ideas become tomorrow realities.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

