The Messenger

I’ve been having the fox come to me everywhere and so it seemed only right to devote a post to him. No, he hasn’t visited me in person but everywhere I look and go I see foxes. Perhaps its coincidence or perhaps my thinking about it has just made me more aware of it…OR….perhaps a totem animal has been visiting me. (WTF?)

Native Americans believed that every person is connected with nine different animals that will accompany you through life, acting as a guide. “Different animal guides come in and out of our lives depending on the direction that we are headed and the tasks that need to be completed along our journey” Every culture uses animals symbolically and depending on which story you like best the fox can represent many things. “The Celts understood the fox knows the woods intimately, and they would rely upon the fox as their guide in the spirit world. In Native American lore, fox animal symbolism deals with two interpretations. One perspective (Northern tribes) observes the fox as a wise and noble messenger. The other (Plains tribes) views the fox as a trickster playing pranks, or worse – luring one to demise.”  I prefer the version where the fox is is a wise and noble messenger.

fox

Tags: , , ,

About Rob Metke

I'm a graphic designer, doer, thinker, artist, inspiration seeker, creative fiend. Check out my Site: www.robmetke.com / Follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/robmetke / Follow me on Behance: http://www.behance.net/RobMetke / Contact me: rob.metke@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

